Home > Uncategorized > Schell’s Chimney Sweep

Schell’s Chimney Sweep

CIMG7222

I’ve pretty much loved everything that I’ve had from this brewery and I’m super excited to try this. It’s a black lager with a touch of smoked malts. This beer features Munich, Rauch, Vienna, Caramunich, Carafa, and Chocolate malts with Liberty and Sterling hops.

Stats:
Schwarzbier. 5.2% ABV. Minnesota. Winter Seasonal.

It has a nice dark brown to black color. Nice fluffy tan head which leaves plenty of lacing on the rim of the glass.

A fairly closed nose, but I’m getting a little bit of smoke, vanilla, and a hint of roast.

Mouthfeel is really nice actually. The body is fairly big compared to many lagers, but it does have quite a bit of carbonation to lighten things up.

Nice amount of smoke, and almost beef jerky kinda thing going on, with a little bit of vanilla, honey, chocolate, and apples. The smoke doesn’t over-power. Just a little bit of sweetness on the finish.

I’m loving this, but you know I’m a big smoke fan. I like the restraint with the smoke though, and it doesn’t over-power the lager. 91 points

  1. February 1, 2013 at 6:38 am

    Next to Snowstorm, Chimney Sweep is my favorite of the recent Schell’s offerings. I have more in case, just say the word 🙂

    • atattooedtale
      February 1, 2013 at 1:54 pm

      Thanks buddy! Loved that beer.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment