Home > Uncategorized > Anchor Porter

Anchor Porter

CIMG8028

I ran across a 12-pack from Anchor with 4 of their beers. This quite excited me, so I purchased said 12-pack. I’ve actually only had the Steam beer out of this pack, so I’m finally able to try some more of their beer that isn’t super-widely distributed. This beer is older than me, and probably much wiser. It was first brewed in 1972 and bottled two years later. Pay homage, kiddies.

Stats:
American Porter. 5.6% ABV. California.

Very dark chocolate brown to black in color. Really fantastic head on this beer, and just a ton of lacing.

Dear god, this smells amazing. Can I never smell anything else? Jesus. The chocolate and caramel will blow you away.

Mouthfeel is also fantastic. Medium body, but with a good shot of carbonation. It’s not too heavy, just enough body.

Just a hint of tartness up front followed by caramel and chocolate. Love the roast, as it doesn’t overwhelm and leave you feeling like you just licked a briquette.

It’s a damn shame that I havn’t tried this sooner. 93 points.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment