Home > Uncategorized > 10 Barrel ISA

10 Barrel ISA

CIMG7950

ISA stands for India Session Ale. Isn’t that a Pale Ale? Or is this supposed to be a slightly more easy-drinking IPA? Yay, marketing! This is the first beer from these folks that I’ve reviewed, so I’m kinda excited. That’s have a drinky-drink.

Stats:
American India Pale Ale. 5.5% ABV. 51 IBUs. Oregon.

Nice big head as it pours. Lacing is looking good, so far. Fairly light colored IPA.

Well, this beer is off to a good start, because this nose smells great. Loads of citrus, and a surprising tropical fruit aspect that makes me think of Citra hops. Bit of pine and black pepper here, as well.

So the mouthfeel is a bit light, but considering this is supposed to be fairly sessionable, I’ll let that pass. Carbonation is a perfect medium.

Upfront flavors include orange, grapefruit, mangos, and starfruit. Pine seeps in after, with a hint of vanilla and I’m surprised by the coconut component. Grainy and dry finish, which I love to see.

Sessionable or not, it’s a good IPA. This is in my wheel house. It’s drinkable, and it’s hoppy without over-shadowing the malt. My kinda beer. Drink this. 92 points.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment