Home > Uncategorized > Rogue Double Chocolate Stout

Rogue Double Chocolate Stout

IMG_4772

This not so cheap beer from Rogue is part of their double series, including Double Dead Guy and Double Mocha Porter. This beer features C120, Chocolate, and Risk malts with Cascade and Revolution hops, rolled oats, honey, natural chocolate flavoring, and as usual, Pacman yeast. This beer did win a gold at the latest World Beer Championships, so let’s see how it is.

Stats:
Imperial Stout. 8.7 % ABV. 50 IBUs. Oregon.

Pours like black tar. One of the darkest stouts I’ve ever seen. It has a tan head that does not go away at all.

The nose smells like a bowl of Hersheys dark chocolate syrup. That is all.

Fairly thick bodied, but has enough carbonation to make it drinkable.

The palate is dark, rich, thick chocolate. It gets quite bitter though, but with a highly roasted coffee flavor, and a slight dirt taste. The length is immense, but it’s a really bitter coffee, chocolate flavor, and it’s actually not that great. It’s slightly sweet, which works for this beer. There is also a tad bit of alcohol that comes through which concerns me.

Well, I do like this beer, but you shouldn’t spend over $13 on it like I did. It’s a little overbearing and I think the chocolate hides some issues underneath. 89 points.

  1. September 15, 2010 at 5:33 am

    Double Chocolate, OH MY GOD! What does it mean? Sorry Mark, had to. Love this stout. I’ll agree on the price though. If I buy any of the Double series, I end up hiding the receipt from Carmen, just to be safe.

    • atattooedtale
      September 15, 2010 at 4:35 pm

      Yeah, way too expensive. So far, this is the only one I’ve really liked.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment