Home > Uncategorized > Lagunitas A Little Sumpin’ Sumpin’

Lagunitas A Little Sumpin’ Sumpin’

CIMG2650

This Summer beer, the last review you will see till next Summer, is a 50% wheat beer, brewed with 3 kinds of wheat. It also has every hop that starts with the letter “C”, which would be Centennial, Chinook, and Cascade.

Stats:
Pale Wheat Ale. 7.3% ABV. 64 IBUs. California.

Dark golden color with a white head, but goes away quickly.

The aroma is quite hoppy. I get a lot of fruit on here with peaches, apricots, citrus, banana, with a bit of that car air freshener pine thing.

Good mouthfeel medium bodied with good carbonation, perfect for summer.

As expected, quite hoppy with the above flavors. Though there is definitely some bitterness in here, it’s fairly well contained, especially on the backend, which impresses me.

I’m quite impressed with this effort. This might now be my favorite summer beer, and I wish I’d have tried it before a couple weeks ago. It’s aggressively hoppy, but well contained and appropriate for non-hop heads. 90 points.

  1. September 15, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    Dude, I LOVE this beer. Pale wheat ale is an awesome hybrid I’m glad to see more of these days. Every tried Gumballhead? Oh wow, even better than this one.

    I’m ready to put my brewing boots back on and I’m considering brewing a similar clone.

    Cheers!

    • atattooedtale
      September 15, 2010 at 4:43 pm

      Yeah, I really liked this one. Unfortunately have not tried Gumballhead, though I hear it’s amazing. You should definitely start brewing again!

  2. October 6, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    I’m still shocked that this fell into the wheat beer category. It was (not surprisingly) listed as an IPA on Rate Beer so that’s what I thought I was drinking… and may have never known otherwise!

    Good value too, I think around $9 a sixer in Minny.

    • atattooedtale
      October 6, 2010 at 7:43 pm

      Well it’s only 50% wheat, so it would make some sense to call it an IPA. Great beer!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

