Home > Uncategorized > Beer Club 23: Hefeweizen

Beer Club 23: Hefeweizen

Hefeweizen Beer Club

Last Saturday’s Beer Club was brought to you by the wonder hefeweizen. This is one of my favorite styles in the Summer. I love filling up my 22 oz Weizen vase while sitting outside reading…about beer. I grabbed a few classics, and a few American modern’s.

We started out with the all time classic, Weihenstephaner. It should come as no surprise that this was the favorite beer of the tasting. Let’s just go ahead and call this a perfect beer.

One of my favorite beers is the Ayinger Brauweisse. I love this beer, but I have to say it tasted a bit flat after the first beer.

The other Great German beers were the Franziskaner and the Paulaner. Both fantastic, but not quite as good as the first two.

We were lucky enough to get a beer from a friend of mine in Minnesota. I’m so glad this made it into the tasting, because it became the second favorite beer of the night. It’s a really fantastic brew, that hits all the notes.

Going a bit more local, we then had the Widmer. This beer is available at most bars in the area and is a pretty darn good brew.

If Widmer isn’t on tap, the Pyramid Hefe probably will be. This is sweeter and fruitier than the Widmer and just isn’t doing it for me anymore.

The Leavenworth Whistling Pig Hefe is actually brewed by Fish down in Olympia. It’s an okay beer, pretty forgettable.

One of the biggest surprises for me was the Hale’s El Jefe Weizen. This was really a fantastic beer, and was one of my favorites in the tasting.

We tried my homebrew after that. Let me just say that I usually serve this as the first beer and will continue to do so.

We finished up the tasting with a slightly out of category beer. The Iron Horse High Five Hefe is a wheat brewed with honey and ginger and it was a really nice change to finish the tasting.

This was an excellent Beer Club. Lots of great beer and a relatively intimate setting. It was one of the smallest Beer Clubs ever. Oh, and we had some excellent food, as well. Next month is American Amber/Reds.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

