Home > Uncategorized > Beer-ing Adventures: Ballard Brewery Tour

Beer-ing Adventures: Ballard Brewery Tour

The neighborhood of Ballard in Seattle is teaming with breweries these days. The Washington Beer Commission set up a walking tour of 6 of them. I hadn’t even heard of two of them when I found out about the tour.

Reuben’s Brews

CIMG7570

CIMG7569

We started off at Reuben’s Brews. I was most excited about this place as they’ve been getting a lot of publicity for such a young brewery. I can see why. The beer was quite good. I started off with a Kolsch, which was tasty, but the stars were the selection of dark beers that my friends got. It was a good start! They just started bottling, so I’m looking forward to some proper reviews.

NW Peaks

CIMG7576

CIMG7571

NW Peaks was next. This place is the very definition of Nano. You can barely fit inside, they had four beers on tap, and their beer garden was more similar to a construction site. I can’t say I was blown away by this brewery. I do have to give them credit for putting a berlinerweisse on the menu. They actually had the syrups for it too.

Hilliard’s

CIMG7572

CIMG7575

CIMG7574

CIMG7573

Hilliard’s was the next stop. I’ve had a couple of their beers before as they come in tallboy cans, which is pretty cool. Man, was I impressed with this place. Not only was the brewery big and open, they didn’t have anything sectioned off. You can get right up to the equipment and check out their barrel program. I guess they aren’t too concerned with people opening valves or start the canning line. The other reason it was cool is because of their Chardonnay Barrel Aged Saison, which was by far the most impressive beer of the day. It was fantastic.

Peddler

CIMG7578

Peddler brewing was next and was a completely new brewery for me. Fairly small tap room, but a ton of beers on tap. The brewer gave a quick tour. Most of the beers didn’t stick in my mind except their coffee saison, which was damn tasty. I’d like to check this place out again when it isn’t so crowded. We had to hold our taster tray.

Populuxe

CIMG7579

CIMG7581

Populuxe was another unheard of brewery. Another pretty small place with only a couple beers on tap. The Wit and the Bitter weren’t bad, but the CDA was off the mark.

Maritime Pacific

CIMG7590

CIMG7591

Maritime Pacific was the last stop on the tour. They are a restaurant, so it took quite awhile before we got a seat. They make some solid beer, but the cask pale ale was quite awesome.

Cheers

CIMG7582

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

