Home > Uncategorized > Southern Star Walloon

Southern Star Walloon

CIMG6760

This is the second Southern Star beer sent to me from my buddy Ben. I loved their stout so I have high expectations for their saison, which is one of my favorite styles of beer. Let’s see how it tastes.

Stats:
Saison. 5.6% ABV. Texas.

Hazy yellow color. Big bubbles in the head that fade away quickly.

Smells a lot like a hefe. It’s a bit yeasty, a bit funky and a bit citrusy with a bit of a wheaty aroma.

Mouthfeel has a low-medium body with high carbonation.

The palate is a bit bland actually. Got some citrus with some yeast funk. Slight cardboard flavors, but doesn’t seem oxidized. Hops show up a bit on the finish.

I love a saison more than most beers, but this one didn’t do it for me. Kind of bland, kind of boring. 82 points.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

