Home > Uncategorized > Beer Club 11: 7/12 Pilsner

Beer Club 11: 7/12 Pilsner

A pils in the Summer is a wonderful thing. Only, it’s barely Summer in Seattle right now with temps around 70 degrees. Oh well. We had some low end stuff and some American craft varieties as an overview of the style. It was surprisingly difficult to find good Pilsners for some reason. I couldn’t even find Urquell. I was hoping to also have Mamma’s Little Yella Pils and Prima Pils in here as well, but it wasn’t meant to be.

CIMG6370

We started off with some German versions with a couple low end beers to start the tasting. I have to say that the Beck’s really wasn’t that bad. It was a little bit skunked, but the flavor was better than the nose and it was very easy drinking. I really couldn’t hate this beer and might even buy it again.

CIMG6377

The Becks above is actually brewed in the US, not Germany, but the Bitburger is. I was expecting to like this one more, but it just tasted like water after the Beck’s. I was pretty surprised by this.

CIMG6381

Now for something a little better, the LTD 03 from Full Sail had a nice orange citrus thing going on. By far had the most flavor. It’s a beer I’ve enjoyed many times and just one of the great lagers in that LTD series.

CIMG6386

And the Churchkey. This was one of the hoppiest pils of the night. I think it’s a solid beer and the can was a hit at Beer Club. Yes, it’s a gimmick, but isn’t that marketing?

CIMG6387

Now on to a couple Czech varieties. Like I mentioned, I couldn’t find Urquell, but I thought this might be a good replacement. And it was. This is actually a lovely pils with soft hop tones. The Beer Club said it tasted like Au Jus. They are weird.

CIMG6392

The Redhook Pils is my favorite of their lineup. I think everyone has probably had this beer already, but why not add it? It’s a decent beer, but watery and unimpressive in this lineup.

CIMG6401

Summerfest is a personal favorite of mine. It definitely stood apart from the pack with a more grainy flavor. It felt somehow more refreshing than the others.

CIMG6411

Now, I added a few oddball beers to the table, starting with this one. It’s an “Alt-style” Pilsner from Snoqualmie. They use an ale yeast for this and also add some maize. It’s a cool little hybrid of the style, but not as refreshing as the other pils.

CIMG6414

I found this Leavenworth beer, brewed by Fish in Olympia, WA, and decided to add it. I’m pretty sure it’s not a Pils, but considering I was having a hard enough time trying to find enough beer, I figured why not. It’s not a bad beer, but didn’t belong in the bunch. The only information that I’ve found called it a golden lager.

CIMG6423

Also not a Pilsner, the Ziggy Zoggy is Zwickelbier. And it’s good. So I added it. By far the hoppiest beer of the bunch, which I loved to end the session, but I seemed to be alone in that sentiment.

Pilsner has become a favorite style of mine. I’m so tired of having double IPAs, imperial stouts, and the like. I’ve got a bunch of beers just sitting around because I’m not interested in having a 9% beer. Kudos to Full Sail and similar breweries for really taking lagers to heart.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

