Home > Uncategorized > Homebrew: Pilsner

Homebrew: Pilsner

I’m going to start blogging about my journey into homebrewing. I’ve brewed 6 or 7 times now, and I’ve learned something new every time. Now that I’m semi-competent in what I’m doing, I wanted to document it here. While I’m on the subject of new things, this blog is going to change. I know, I’ve said this multiple times, but it will be happening soon. I’m working out some details right now, and hopefully in a couple months, I’ll have a great, new blog, up and running.

Anyways, I’ve been wanting to brew a Pilsner. I enjoy a good Pils, and it’s my dad’s favorite beer. I wanted to do it while temps are still on the cool side. My homebrew recipes are mine, but I borrow from all over the place. I’m also only making a single gallon of beer. I do this because it’s cheaper and I can brew all-grain. It’s all about learning and experimenting until I can get a more legit brewing system.

CIMG5301

I’m starting this recipe with 2.5lb Gambrinus Pilsner malt, 0.5lb Vienna malt, and 0.25lb CaraPils.

CIMG5304

Mash at 153 degrees, just before the sparge.

CIMG5306

I’m using about an ounce of Cascades that I had left over for the bittering @ 60 minutes.

CIMG5309

And an half ounce of Saaz @ 20 and 1.

CIMG5310

Nearing the end of the boil at this point.

CIMG5313

And the final product sitting in the garage at about 55 degrees. I over-filled the fermenter a bit, but it will pass through the blow-off. I’ll post another picture after the flocculation.

I currently have an IPA bottled, which should be ready to go this week, and I just bottled the Hefeweizen I did with a couple friends, and I’ve got a pumpkin ale in secondary that can be bottled by the end of the week.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

