Home > Uncategorized > Stone Belgo Anise Imperial Russian Stout

Stone Belgo Anise Imperial Russian Stout

CIMG4506

This is Stone’s one off for the IRS. I love the IRS, so I can only hope this will be just as amazing. This is brewed with a Belgian yeast, with anise and oak. Let’s see how it is.

Stats:
Russian Imperial Stout. 10.5% ABV. 55 IBUs. California. Limited Release.

Very dark brown to black, nice tan head.

There’s a ton going on on the nose. Yes, the anise comes through a bit, in a Jager kind of way. Some chocolate and dark fruits come through. I also get a wine and bourbon thing, which I bet is partly from the oak and high ABV.

Mouthfeel is big, like you’d expect, but still has a nice bit of carbonation.

The palate is similar to the nose. It starts off as the IRS that you know and love with a big chocolate and coffee component. It’s delicious, but then it turns into this weird Nyequil/Jager finish that I find completely off-putting. It’s a bit fruitier and it definitely has that whiskey thing going on, which I like.

I’m actually a fan of anise, but not in the Nyquil form. That’s all I taste on the finish of this. I miss the regular IRS. 86 points.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

