Home > Uncategorized > Deschutes Fresh Hop Mirror Pond

Deschutes Fresh Hop Mirror Pond

CIMG4393

This is a limited release in the Bond Street Series of hoppy beers from Deschutes. I was super excited to get this beer, as I’m a big fan of Mirror Pond, and can only assume this will be even better. It’s hopped with Cascade’s.

Stats:
American Pale Ale. 5.0% ABV. 40 IBUs. Oregon. Limited Release.

Coppery golden color. Not that much head, but has some really nice lacing.

Nice nose. You can really smell the Cascades in here. I get a hint of vanilla and tobacco, as well, and a nice orange citrus aroma.

Mouthfeel is perfect. Great medium body with just the right amount of carbonation.

A little bit of fresh pine and citrus hit the palate. It kind of fades after that. The finish is decent and has malty flavor.

Well, it’s not terrible, but probably the most unimpressed I’ve ever been by a Deschutes beer. There’s no reason why I wouldn’t just love this beer, but I find it lacking flavor. I’m not even sure how that happens. This is the second time that I’ve bought it, because I thought maybe my palate was off the first time, but it’s pretty clear that this is a let down. 84 points.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

