Home > Uncategorized > Dogfish Head Burton Baton

Dogfish Head Burton Baton

CIMG4398

This is a favorite Dogfish Head beer for a lot of people. I’ve never had the chance to try it, so I thought I’d pick some up. It aint cheap, but what Dogfish beer is? If you’ve read my blog at all, you might know I’m really not the biggest fan of Dogfish, for a variety of reasons. Let’s see if this beer is worth the price point.

Stats:
Imperial India Pale Ale. 10.0% ABV. 70 IBUs. Delaware. Limited Release.

Nice coppery color. Decent head, but it leaves some great lacing.

Nice nose on this one. We got some Pinesol, oak, vanilla, whiskey, and a little hint of fruit.

Mouthfeel is very nice. Good medium to heavy body with a little bit of carbonation bite.

Oak and pine meets a bit of a jerky and honey play. Does get a hair hot with a huge finish of vanilla and pine. Medium bitterness.

This is a really fantastic brew. It’s big, but it’s beautifully balanced. Neither the hops nor the oak overwhelm the malt too much. I would say it’s a little bit alcoholic, but considering it’s so high, I can’t complain too much. 91 points

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. October 7, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    I’ve yet to try this, yet like you said everyone seems to love it. I didn’t realize it was an IIPA, hard to justify the price when we have plenty of fresh local IIPA’s at our fingertips. I’d still love to try this beer someday, though.

  2. atattooedtale
    October 10, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    I agree, Maggs. It was good, but I won’t be buying it again anytime soon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

