Home > Uncategorized > Sierra Nevada Kellerweis

Sierra Nevada Kellerweis

CIMG4098

This is a re-review of this beer. It showed up in my house, so I thought I’d give it another go. And it goes with my theme of German style wheat beers. Keller means “cellar” in German apparently, in this open-fermented hefeweizen. According to Sierra Nevada, this is one of only a few hefeweizens brewed this way in the US. This beer features 2-row Pale, Wheat, and Munich malts with Perle or Sterling hops. I’m excited to give this another go.

Stats:
German Hefeweizen. 4.8% ABV. 15 IBUs. California.

It’s a beautiful bright yellow color, and of course, very cloudy. Head doesn’t last.

Definitely some phenols coming through on the nose with a heavy banana aroma. You get some tropical fruits, clove, wheat, and yeast. Lovely nose.

Mouthfeel is nice and crisp with a light body, but this is amazingly drinkable.

The palate is just like the nose. Lots of tropical fruit, heavy banana, some clove, hint of tartness, with a hop bitter finish with some candy banana.

Far from my favorite Sierra Nevada, but quite a good beer. I don’t think Sierra Nevada has ever made a bad one. I’m sticking with my initial review. 91 points.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

