Home > Uncategorized > Pike IPA

Pike IPA

CIMG3965

I’ve never actually had the Pike IPA until now. There’s a lot of solid IPAs in Washington, so I think I kind of overlooked this one. Better late than never! This beer features Pale, Munich, Crystal, and Carapils malts with Columbus, Willamette, Chinook, Goldings, and Amarillo hops. This better be good for the price. Over $10 for a sixer.

Stats:
American India Pale Ale. 6.3% ABV. 60 IBUs. Washington.

Coppery color. Head isn’t anything special, but it does leave some decent lacing on the glass.

Nice hoppy nose with a lot of pine on this one with vanilla and a bit of lime. Nothing amazing, but not a bad nose at all.

Mouthfeel is great, nice medium body giving it some “tooth”.

Pine and vanilla mixed with some lime and orange. I love this black pepper meets mushroom component. Nice flavors all around. Average bitterness for an IPA.

This is the first time I’ve ever had the Pike IPA, and I’m pleasantly surprised by it. This is just a solid, all around IPA. I havn’t come to expect all that much from Pike, but apparently they can make a good beer. My only complaint here is the price, for which I could by Stone IPA, which is one of my favorites. 88 points.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

