Home > Uncategorized > Russian River Damnation

Russian River Damnation

CIMG3625

For a Russian River beer, this is surprisingly cheap. I have only been blown away by their stuff, so I’m hoping this one does as well. This is a year-round Belgian strong golden ale. Let’s give it a taste.

Stats:
Belgian Strong Golden Ale. 7.0% ABV. 25 IBUs. California.

Golden yellow and keeps a small white head, and lots of sediment of course.

The nose is a yeast bomb with lots of tropical fruits. The pineapple is amazing, with hints of peach, honey, and apricots.

Light and spritzy mouthfeel.

Very similar to the nose, with lots of yeast and tropical fruits coming through. Surprisingly hopped fairly high. The finish is off-balanced a bit, from the hops and possibly from some heat coming through.

Not a bad beer, and well-made, but doesn’t knock my socks off and seems a bit unbalanced, which is unusual for RR. 88 points.

  1. June 29, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    I’m a big fan of Russian River, but this isn’t one of my favorites. Redemption, however, is! Also love … Consecration, Supplication, Temptation, Deviation, Pliny the Elder AND Younger, Blind Pig .. I guess I pretty much love it all 😛

    • atattooedtale
      June 29, 2011 at 8:40 pm

      I’m with you. Supplication might be the best beer I’ve ever had. Man, it’s so great. Of course, Pliny is amazing, as well as Blind Pig. That’s all I’ve had from them so far. Spendy stuff!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

