Home > Uncategorized > Bell’s Hopslam

Bell’s Hopslam

CIMG3177

This is a very famous beer indeed. I was lucky enough to get some from @13mikey. In general beer geekdom, this beer is second only to Pliney, and many would argue second to none. It has six hop varieties, but only lists the Simcoe dry-hop on the website. It also has honey added to it.

Stats:
Double India Pale Ale. 10.0% ABV. Michigan. Winter Seasonal.

Amber color and hazy. Head actually dropped fairly quickly but left great lacing.

Hoppy nose (go figure) that brings some pine, but the nose is dominated with tropical fruits. I’m getting peaches, coconut, pineapple, and a hint of honey with a slight floral component.

Mouthfeel is very thick.

Palate has a lot of those fruits, especially pineapple, coconut, and pine. It has an awful lot of sweetness with considerable hop bitterness on the back.

Alright, so here comes the part where everyone yells at me. This is a good beer, well made. But let me first say that it’s not my style. The sweetness is over-the-top for my palate, but that’s me. But regardless, if we are gonna do the inevitable comparison to Pliney, we first must say that they are quite different beers. BUT, personally, I think Pliney blows it away. Pliney displays more restraint and grace than this beer, but considering it’s called Hopslam, I’ll leave it alone. I also don’t understand the honey. I got yelled at when I mentioned the honey added sweetness. It’s a sweet beer, it has honey it in, it makes sense. So even if the honey is completely fermented out, I don’t see how it helps the beer that much. If just for flavor and alcohol, both can be achieved without it, right? 90 points.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

