Home > Uncategorized > Nebraska Black Betty

Nebraska Black Betty

CIMG3461

This is the notorious Black Betty whiskey barrel aged Russian Imperial Stout. I say notorious for the trouble it’s caused on Getting Tanked, so it was clearly appropriate for me to drink it on the show. As expected, I had a Black Betty moment. Luckily, I got a review out before it trashed me.

Stats:
Russian Imperial Stout. 9.0% ABV. 83 IBUs. Nebraska.

Very dark brown with a tan head.

The nose has some whiskey and oak, like you’d expect, and a bunch of chocolate and vanilla. Some brown sugar and honey also make an appearance. Great smelling stout.

Nice and thick mouthfeel. Decently chewy which is what I like to see with the style.

Bitter chocolate, honey, oak, rum, whiskey, and tobacco. A ton of flavor, but the whiskey barrel doesn’t dominate at all. Decent amount of hops on the back. It is a bit hot on the back, which I would like to see calmed down, but doesn’t bother me too much.

Nice, thick, boozy, imperial stout. Another good example of this culty style, and hangs up there with some of the best. 93 points.

  1. March 30, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    Excellent review man, glad you liked it! Best line “got a review out before it trashed me”. Would have loved to hear the gigglefest that I know hit you after we were done taping.

    • atattooedtale
      March 31, 2011 at 3:24 pm

      I should have called the Tank line!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

