Home > Uncategorized > Dogfish Head World Wide Stout

Dogfish Head World Wide Stout

CIMG3363

This is a hard to find high alcohol stout. It runs somewhere in the range of 15-20% ABV. It’s also not cheap. It’s a 12oz bottle, so I believe it’s probably the most expensive beer that I’ve ever bought by oz. But hey, I just graduated college. I deserve a treat.

Stats:
Imperial Stout. 18% ABV. 70 IBUs. Delaware.

Fairly light stout color. It’s dark brown and very little head.

The nose is boozy with dark chocolate, caramel, soy sauce, rum, and some vanilla and oak round it out.

Mouthfeel is actually really carbonated which gives it the perception of light body, but after the tingles fade, there is quite a silky body.

Rum, some roast flavor, caramel, bananas, peaches, chocolate, and a little bitterness. Vanilla and oak hints with a lot of tobacco on the finish.

I like this a lot more than I thought I would. It’s surprisingly light, so it’s not hugely roasty. I also love that it doesn’t bring a bunch of soy sauce like I was expecting, and for the ABV doesn’t over-power the palate at all. 93 points.

  1. Angela Arp
    March 31, 2011 at 6:35 am

    I agree with your review – one of the best BIG BAD A$$ stouts ‘that doesn’t taste like one’ out there. I love the lightness of the flavors, and how the 18% abv is completely hidden! Now that’s good Brewing!

    • atattooedtale
      March 31, 2011 at 3:23 pm

      Couldn’t agree more Angela! Cheers!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

