Home > Uncategorized > Hale’s Aftermath Imperial IPA

Hale’s Aftermath Imperial IPA

CIMG3127

This is apparently a Winter seasonal from Hale’s Ales. Havn’t tried this one before, and I’ve had most of the Hale’s beers so I had to pick this one up when I saw it. It’s an Imperial IPA brewed with Columbus, Cascade, and Centennial hops, so fairly typical hops. Let’s see how it is.

Stats:
Imperial India Pale Ale. 8.4% ABV. Washington. Winter Release.

Light amber color and hazy, with an amazing head and lacing.

Chock full ‘o hops and aggressive. Pine resin with citrus coming through. It also is a bit earthy and vegetal. Even though it’s really hoppy, it does seem like there is some balance there.

Nice medium bodied mouthfeel. Carbonation might be a tad high, but I’m not complaining.

Yep, hops, and lots of them. Good pine and earth flavors with lemon and lime coming through. It really just keeps getting more vegetal, but I actually like it here. Definitely some bitterness on the back, but nothing out of the ordinary.

Probably one of the better IPA’s that I’ve had from this state. Aggressive, but fairly balanced. I’m applauding Hale for this (*clapping*) beer. Good job, guys. 90 points.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. Jon annis
    June 4, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    I had this beer on tap at a local bar and it might be the best beer I’ve had. After searching all local stores I called hales brewery to see where they sell it, found out I’ll probably have to drive a half hour to Seattle. Do you know of any place in Tacoma that sells it?

    • atattooedtale
      June 5, 2011 at 2:49 pm

      Thanks for the comment, Jon! Unfortunately, I don’t know where you’d be able to get this beer in Tacoma. It might be a little bit out of your way, but you might wanna check out 99 Bottles in Federal Way. I found my bottle way up in Bellingham.

  1. February 28, 2011 at 4:40 pm

Leave a Reply

