Home > Uncategorized > Sierra Nevada 30th Anniversary Grand Cru

Sierra Nevada 30th Anniversary Grand Cru

CIMG2991

It appears that Sierra Nevada has taken down their 30th Anniversary webpage, so I’ll have to use my memory for this one. If I recall this is a blend of the Pale, Celebration, and Bigfoot and then dry-hopped. I’ve been a big fan of the other 3, so I’m sure this one won’t disappoint.

Stats:
American Strong Ale. 9.2% ABV. California.

This is dark copper in color with a great head.

The nose is hoppy with some pine, but also quite perfumy. Citrus and caramel also come through strong. I get some slight oak with vanilla, but I have to admit it’s not a super open nose.

Great mouthfeel, medium to full-bodied.

Citrus, pine, followed by oak and vanilla flavors. Caramel and apples follow throughout. I get this beautiful orange/tangerine component, especially on the finish. Quite a good dose of bitterness on the back, but a well balanced beer, as you would expect from Sierra Nevada.

Good beer, and well worth the money quality wise. I do have to admit that it doesn’t completely blow my socks off. 91 points.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

