Home > Uncategorized > Sierra Nevada Estate ’10

Sierra Nevada Estate ’10

CIMG2793

This is what $170/lb hops taste like. Grossman has said that he believes the hops that are grown on the brewery premises. That’s opposed to around $2/lb on the open-market. I’m not sure how many other beers can claim to be “estate”. The hops and barley are organically grown at the brewery. I remember liking this last year, and loved the Southern Hemisphere that I just had from them. Hopefully this one is just as delicious.

Stats:
Organic Wet Hop India Pale Ale. 6.7% ABV. California.

Coppery, burnt orange color with just a fantastic head and lacing.

Hoppy nose, but you get the malt on here as well. Quite a bit of grapefruit and orange with some nice lemon/lime going on. Also a slight floral note, which I like.

Excellent mouthfeel, medium bodied and good carbonation.

Again, lots of hops but just fantastic balance. Really spicy, floral hops with quite a bit of spices left on my palate. Such delicious hops with a nice little caramel note, and this floral explosion on the finish. Again, great balance, but certainly some bitterness here, so expect that. The finish is actually pretty vegetal, as I’m getting this snap pea flavor that’s actually really enjoyable.

Love it. I mean, it’s Sierra Nevada, and they just do hops right. It’s a bit expensive, but completely worth it in my opinion. 92 points.

  1. November 2, 2010 at 6:49 am

    I love this stuff. Had some last year and can’t wait to drink the two bottles I have in my fridge!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

