Home > Uncategorized > Full Sail Sanctuary Reserve ’10

Full Sail Sanctuary Reserve ’10

CIMG2772

This is another Full Sail Reserve beer available from mid-August to November. I always grab the latest of these as they are on the cheaper side, and sometimes you get some really great beers, Old Boardhead for example. Let’s see how this dubbel compares to it’s Belgian counterparts.

Stats:
Dubbel. 7.0% ABV. 20 IBUs. Oregon. Available August to November

Fairly light colored dubbel with decent head.

Well the nose isn’t very impressive. It’s kind of grainy, and sweet malty. Smells like a lot of caramel. Reminds me a lot of the Wee Heavy that I just had actually. Some tart apples here as well.

Mouthfeel is alright, does get a bit light.

I’ve never tasted a dubbel like this, and I don’t like this. It’s got a sweet malty profile with a lot of caramel, some biscuit flavor, and slight yeast. The finish has some alcohol notes, which concern me at 7%. Disjointed finish.

This beer is just not well made. Full Sail really missed the mark with this one. 77 points.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. November 2, 2010 at 6:53 am

    Funny coincidence. I had this in my hand to buy this probably about the same time you were posting this review and when I asked Alvey (owner of the Four Firkins) how it was he said “eh…” and I decided to put it back.

    Guess you were on the same wavelength. I appreciate having him tell me that he wasn’t too thrilled with something even though I wanted to buy it from him.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

