Home > Uncategorized > Iron Horse Quilter’s Irish Death

Iron Horse Quilter’s Irish Death

CIMG2532

This is the first beer I’ve had from Iron Horse in Ellensburg, Washington. Though it’s home to Central Washington University, a school that I pretty much hate, as they are my schools rival, I made an exception to try this beer. This beer is named after the founder of the brewery, and is specifically made to defy any beer category, but they do refer to it as candy beer. That is not something that appeals to me, but I’ve heard from a few people that this beer is awesome. Let’s see why they think that.

Stats:
Strong Dark Ale. 7.8% ABV. Washington.

Dark brown with ruby red hues and a head that fades fast.

The nose is very sweet and fruity. I get lots of caramel and dark fruits with brown sugar and a little vanilla.

The mouthfeel is very thick, probably due to added sugar.

Very sweet, fruity, and sugary. I get so much dark, juicy fruits on this, but I can’t picture them without being covered in sugar. Low hop bitterness, and hidden alcohol except for some menthol action on the finish.

I understand that a lot of people are going to love this beer because they are seduced by the sugar. It’s why people think Yellowtail is a good wine. This is decent quality, no hollow mid-palate, but the flavor seems artificial, and there shouldn’t be this much sugar in any beer that I’d actually enjoy drinking. 84 points.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

