Home > Uncategorized > Flying Dog Gonzo

Flying Dog Gonzo

CIMG1166

Flying Dog has been a hard brewery for me to get my hands on, but I finally did. This imperial porter is brewed with some Crystal, Chocolate, and Black malts with Warrior, Northern Brewer, and Cascade hops. This beer is brewed a few times a year, so availability is slightly limited.

Stats:
Imperial Porter. 7.8% ABV. 85 IBUs. Maryland.

Very black with a tint of red. Good decent head.

A lot of chocolate on the nose and actually a bit smokey. Some caramelized malts come through. And maybe just a hint of banana, but not getting much else.

Pretty viscous and thick in the mouth, with low carbonation.

A lot of chocolate and coffee on the palate, there is this earthy quality near the end. Pretty hefty bitterness, but is also just a bit sweet.

Nothing much to say on this one. Decent brew, but doesn’t knock my socks off. Solid, but a bit boring. 87 Points.

  1. June 26, 2010 at 5:26 am

    If there are any other Flying Dog’s you want to try, let me know and I’ll get some out to you. I like the Gonzo, but the Raging Bitch and BarleyWine are my favorite from FD.

    • atattooedtale
      June 27, 2010 at 6:38 pm

      I definitely would like to try some more. Let’s set up a trade sometime. BTW, congrats on being the 100th comment on my blog!

      • June 30, 2010 at 6:54 pm

        Sounds good to me, and AWESOME! I rule!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

