Home > Uncategorized > Southern Tier Unearthly DIPA

Southern Tier Unearthly DIPA

CIMG0910

This was a beer that I kept seeing every time I went to the store, but it took quite awhile before I actually decided to buy it. I wish it didn’t take that long. This is the first beer I’ve had out of New York’s Southern Tier brewery. The Unearthly is a DIPA brewed with 2-row and cara-pils malts with red wheat, and features Chinook, Cascade, Styrian Goldings, and Centennial hops.

Stats:
Double India Pale Ale. 11% ABV. New York.

Actually fairly light in color, more of a darkish lager. Pretty decent lacing throughout on this beer. Keeps a lasting head.

Very, very hoppy, but not very piney. Much more citrus on this IPA. I get a hint of vanilla coming through here as well. Very nice nose, and very pleasant for a non-IPA drinker.

Great mouthfeel, pretty heavy in there, but not over-bearing, and still easy drinking, with some crisp carbonation.

This is very much an East Coast style IPA. Lots of citrus coming through, even some tropical fruits. It’s fairly ridiculous how well this alcohol is hidden. I really can’t tell at all. There is some sweetness here with the malts coming through a bit. Back end isn’t too terribly bitter either.

This is extremely well made, and well balanced. If you can find this, and want a hop-bomb, this is great. I much prefer this over a 90 Minute. It’s well balanced, but isn’t overbearingly sweet with the malts. Just be careful, this can mess you up quickly, cause this is not boozy at all. I think if I mixed a 90 minute and a Torpedo, it would be something like this. 93 points.

  1. May 27, 2010 at 11:15 am

    This is one of my absolute favorite beers. One of the first beers I had about a year ago that started me on the plunge into the world of craft beer. I can highly recommend the oak aged version too if you can find it.

    • atattooedtale
      May 27, 2010 at 5:06 pm

      Yeah, I agree, this beer took me be surprise. Hopefully, I’ll come across the oaked version.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

