Home > Uncategorized > Tecate

Tecate

CIMG1432

First of all, I got this beer for two reasons. One is that I’ve never reviewed an adjunct lager before, and two is that I got a new glass for Christmas from one of my besties, named Susan. It’s a very large glass indeed, and I felt it would be appropriate to fill it up.

Alright, so the beer I decided to get was Tecate. You have all seen it. It’s an American style adjunct lager, which means the instead of being 100% barley malt, it’s cut with some other ingredient, usually rice or corn. It’s cheaper to produce adjuncts and lightens up the flavor. Because, God-forbid, you want to actually taste your beer. And when I review this beer, I’m not going to do, as some beer reviews do, rate it on a different scale based on the type of beer that it is. That would destroy my rating criteria as a whole. It’s a beer, and it’s going to be treated just as any other beer.

Stats:
Adjunct Lager. 4.5% ABV. Mexico.

Very light in color, yellowish. No head at all.

The nose is very malty and grainy, but it does have some fruit notes, mainly a candied lemon aroma, but that’s about it.

The mouthfeel is incredibly light and incredibly carbonated. This is easier to drink than water.

Grainy adjunct flavor, but very light flavor. Some of that lemon flavor and a malty, grainy thing comes through. That is all.

This beer is actually not the worst thing ever. It’s so light, it’s really non-offensive. But it’s also shit. 70 points.

  1. SB
    February 4, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    your mug is famous now! wowee 😀

    too bad its first debut is with crappy beer, haha. it seems like 70’s pretty generous!

  2. February 5, 2010 at 9:07 am

    LOL. I’m so glad you wrote a review on this… I think atattooedtale’s scale is based on a 65-100…

    • atattooedtale
      February 5, 2010 at 8:56 pm

      haha Well I havn’t rated anything lower than a 70, so maybe it is. But it honestly isn’t the worst thing I’ve ever had. It’s so light and easy drinking. Not that it’s a good beer by any means…

  3. February 5, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    “But it’s also shit.” The best way to sum up this beer I’ve ever heard.

    • atattooedtale
      February 5, 2010 at 8:57 pm

      I think the best review of a beer like this described it as being what domestic violence was made of haha.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

