Home > Uncategorized > Fantôme Saison

Fantôme Saison

CIMG1246
I hope everyone is going to have a great, and safe New Years. I’m wishing everyone a happy, and fruitful next year. I don’t normally make resolutions, but I have a bunch of them this time. They include being more healthy, doing well in school, and working hard to continue this blog and bring you more content. And I want to thank everyone who has supported me in this endeavor. I especially want to thank Frank, and a whole bunch of great twitter friends. There is such a great beer community, with brewers, and bloggers, and just fans of craft beer. There is also a great magazine called Mutineer, who I have had the privilege of talking to, and have taken my beer reviews seriously.

Fantôme is a little brewery in Belgium that wanted to revive the old tradition of the village brewery. They began in 1988, and have become a very serious, and collectable producer. This is a Saison, which is a traditional Belgian style. They were originally brewed in the winter months for consumption in the summer.

Stats:
Saison. 8.0% ABV. Belgium.

Very pale in color, with a little tint of orange. Very transparent, but with a little bit of yeast. The head is non-existent.

The aroma is very similar to a Belgian golden ale. It’s very yeasty and very fruity. Think light fruits. Lots of peaches, pears, apples, lemon, and other tropical fruits.

Medium bodied but with quite a lot of carbonation, but not over-the-top. In fact, it’s highly drinkable, really perfect body.

The yeastyness comes through right away, but also just a flood of tropical fruits. It’s a fruit stand in my mouth, and I couldn’t be happier. And it dries out in the finish, and you can actually taste some hops in here, and there is just a slight bitterness. I have the taste of peaches and pears in my mouth, that just won’t die. There is a slight funk in the mid-palate I should mention, as well.

This is, without a doubt, one of the very best beers I’ve ever had, if not the best. It’s simply phenomenal. This tastes really similar to a serious Champagne. 95 points.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

