Home > Uncategorized > Deschutes Jubelale 2009

Deschutes Jubelale 2009

CIMG0902

This was one of my favorite winter warmers last year. This is Deschutes seasonal, available from October to December. Just to review, a winter warmer is a highly malty beer, with a little bit of sweetness, and usually low on the hops. Some have fairly high alcohol, hence the term winter warmer.

Stats:
Winter Warmer. 6.7% ABV. Oregon.

Your typical winter warmer color, deep brown/mahogany. Little bit of lacing left on top.

Nice nose, I get some nice caramel coming through, also a bit of fruit. I get some nice cherries and apples. A little baked apple, and some brown sugar and cinnamon. I also get a bit of hops coming through as well.

Has some weight, which you wanna see from a winter warmer. And pretty low carbonation.

A little bit of malty sweetness comes through right at the front with a nice dose of brown sugar. I also get some of that fruit, noticing some banana on the palate here. I’m surprised by the amount of bitterness on the back end. I almost think they put more hops into this years than before. But it does remind me of some sort of Christmas pastry, with lots of spices coming through.

This is pretty good stuff, though I remember liking last years a bit more. It does seem like there is an awful lot of bitterness on the back for a winter warmer, and because I’m not really digging that, it’s gonna score a bit lower. 86 points.

What beer are you gonna drink for Thanksgiving?

  1. November 21, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    I am hoping to have a bottle of Life & Limb for Thanksgiving, maybe The Bruery’s Saison Rue.

    • atattooedtale
      November 23, 2009 at 5:47 pm

      I can’t wait to try the Life & Limb. Hopefully I can get my hands on some out here, not sure how available that one is going to be.

  1. October 25, 2010 at 4:55 pm

Leave a Reply

