Home > Uncategorized > Alaskan Smoked Porter 2008

Alaskan Smoked Porter 2008

CIMG0865

Alaskan Smoked Porter is supposedly one of the first American made smoked-beers. This is probably Alaskan’s most well-known, and respected beers. A rauchbier, or smoked-beer, is a very old style of German beer making. The flavor is derived from smoking the malts used in the beer. Usually, the malts are dried over an open fire to produce the smoke flavor. The Alaskan Brewing Co. roasts the malts over alder wood for about 72 hours. The smoke also acts as a preservative in the beer, allowing it to be cellared for years. This is a limited-release, and vintaged beer. I’m drinking the ’08, but the ’09 was just released, and once I get my hands on one, I’ll post my review of that, as well.

Stats:
Porter/Rauchbier. 6.5% ABV. Alaska.

Very dark brown color, practically black. Thin head, but leaves a little espresso colored foam on top.

The nose actually is pretty subtle. Of course, the smoke comes out, but not obnoxiously, and there isn’t a whole lot more going on here. Smells a bit like a bbq restaurant, with a little bit of sweetness in here too.

Not too thick or thin with a little bit of carbonation, nice mouth feel.

So obviously there is quite a bit of smoke, again, not over the top, which I like. I get a little bit of raisin and molasses, chocolate, vanilla, and some burnt bbq on the back end.

So I’m not super impressed with this. I like it, and I think it’s solid, a little shallow on the back though. This one will probably get better with age, though. 87 points.

  1. November 16, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    This is my favorite Smoked Porter…

  2. November 16, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    I also put it as my favorite smoked porter after drinking it up in Alaska at the brewery.

  3. atattooedtale
    November 16, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    Haha, well I can’t match the experience, but I thought it was pretty solid, but not spectacular. Would love to see how it ages, and I’ll try the ’09 as soon as it gets out here. I’ve had little experience with smoked beers, any other’s you’d recommend? Thanks for the comment!

  1. April 5, 2011 at 2:36 pm

Leave a Reply

