Home > Uncategorized > Deschutes Mirror Mirror 2009

Deschutes Mirror Mirror 2009

CIMG0840

I had been looking for this beer, and was really disappointed when I couldn’t get my hands on it. I figured they were all sold out, but when I went to my new local grocery store, they just happened to have a bunch of bottles on the shelf. Needless to say, I was very excited. This is a barley wine that has only been brewed twice: once in 2006 and again this year. So it’s a pretty special release. Let’s get one thing straight first, this isn’t a beer you should go buy and drink. This is a beer you should buy and then store for at least a year. Many people don’t realize that some beers get better with age, and this is what this beer is all about. In fact, they even put a date on the bottle when it’s best opened. Okay, so what is Mirror Mirror. This was an inspired by Deschutes flagship beer, Mirror Pond. From what I can tell, it’s essential a double Mirror Pond, and then aged in oak barrels. Not only is this a limited release, and hard to find, it’s expensive, and a lot of people just won’t like this. This is a beer geeks beer.

Stats:
Barley Wine. 11% ABV. 30 IBUs. Oregon.

Coppery to dark in color, actually pretty similar to a winter warmer.

Very sweet nose, with banana, honey, vanilla, maple syrup. This is very malty, with no real hop presence.

Pretty heavy on the palate, but still retains quite a bit of carbonation.

First thing I notice on the palate is the alcohol. Very sweet, malty-ness, reminds me of a Dogfish Head 90 Minute. But a very complex beer, with honey, vanilla, maple, banana, and very whiskey like on the back. Bitterness isn’t bad, but a lot of alcohol on the back end. There are some hops on the back as well.

Great complexity and quite well made. I’ll go with a 92 right now, but this beer really needs to be stored in a closet for a few years.

What is the last barley wine that you’ve had? It’s probably the “Champagne” style of beers, but a lot of people have never had one.

  1. ken
    October 20, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    I’ve never actually had one. What’s a good starter?

  2. October 25, 2009 at 8:40 am

    Man, and I was looking forward to trying one today during the Dallas game! Guess it’ll go into storage. That is a tasty looking glass though….

    • atattooedtale
      October 25, 2009 at 6:45 pm

      Don’t get me wrong, that is some good, serious stuff. But I think you will enjoy this one more in a year or so. I think I’m gonna pick up another one of these and a Black Butte XXI to store.

  1. March 2, 2012 at 4:57 pm

Leave a Reply

