Home > Uncategorized > Issaquah Bullfrog Ale

Issaquah Bullfrog Ale

CIMG0642

Rogue acquired the Issaquah Brewery in 2000, but they still continue to produce the Bullfrog ales there. The Bullfrog ale is their namesake beer; a wheat produced with Hood, Saaz, and Horizon hops. It is also produced with Rogue’s Pacman yeast, so it is undoubtedly a different beer than what was originally produced there.

Stats:
Wheat Ale. Around 5% ABV (12.5 degrees Plato). 16 IBUs. 84 AA. 5 degrees Lovibond. Washington.

Orange/honey colored, with no real head, and quite a bit of sediment.

Wheat and malt on the nose, but I also get a cool cinnamon-sugar thing. Kinda sweet. Interesting nose.

Pretty well carbonated, refreshing mouth feel, but a bit thicker than some wheats.

Again I get cinnamon, and I kinda like it. A hint of orange. Wheaty, of course. Pretty subtle flavors, like the last hefe I had from Rogue, but this is far better.

Not super flavorful, but I love the cinnamon thing I get on it. Not the best wheat I’ve had by any stretch of the imagination, but I’ll probably have it again. Especially since I can get it on tap in Issaquah! 85 Points.

We beer geeks love a good brew pub. Where do you go?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

