Home > Uncategorized > Rogue Independence Hop Ale

Rogue Independence Hop Ale

CIMG0634

One of my favorite things about Rogue is that they list all their ingredients. This is a fresh hopped beer, meaning they throw in hops that havn’t been dried, into the beer after the boil. This beer features Centennial and Cascade hops.

Stats:
India Pale Ale. About 6.0% ABV (15 degrees plato). 80 IBUs. 75 AA. 14.1 degrees Lovibond. Oregon.

Coppery color. Actually has a pretty decent head.

Hops, hops, and more hops. Hint of sweetness and caramel, and very grassy on the nose.

A thicker mouth feel, but still good, with some good carbonation, though not as crisp as a lot of IPAs.

Very hoppy on the palate, feels very fresh. I feel like this is what it would taste like if I stuck a bunch of hops in my mouth right now. 80 IBUs are apparent, and if you can’t handle the bitterness, this is not a beer for you. Grassy, and piney, and green, with a little hint of citrus.

The fresh hopping is really wonderful in this beer. A lot of people aren’t gonna like this beer if they aren’t hopheads. I would not consider myself a hophead, but I do appreciate this beer. I’ll go 90 points on it.

Rogue makes a gazillion beers. What is your favorite?

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. July 8, 2009 at 9:51 am

    I’ll have to give this one a try. I love the Dead Guy Ale these guys make. Perfect beer for Halloween, World Zombie Day, or Easter.

    • atattooedtale
      July 8, 2009 at 2:09 pm

      Thanks for the comment! Dead Guy is pretty classic, though I’ve never reviewed it on here. I’ll have to do that!

      • July 8, 2009 at 4:28 pm

        I’ve been reading your reviews for a while, finally decided to comment. Keep ’em coming!

      • atattooedtale
        July 9, 2009 at 2:51 pm

        I appreciate the support, no question!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

