Home > Uncategorized > Boundary Bay Scotch Ale

Boundary Bay Scotch Ale

CIMG0636

Scotch ales are strong pale ales with high malt character. They feature caramelized malts that brings out the sweetness, with toffee and caramel flavors. Not known to be one of my favorite styles, but a lot of people love these beers because of the sweetness.

Stats:
Scotch Ale. 6.4% ABV. 1.064 OG. Beautiful Bellingham, Washington

Dark brown color, but not too much head.

Very malty nose, with a little biscuit, chocolate, and caramel. I also get a hint of alcohol on it as well. Very creamy nose, with some vanilla.

Slightly thick mouthfeel, but still carbonated.

A ton of chocolate, with some caramel on the palate. Very malty, and sweet flavored, with a bit of biscuit.

It’s a pretty decent brew, but heavy on the sweetness, too much for myself, but I can see many people liking this. In fact, I know a few that do. 87 points.

Are you a fan of scotch ales? What is your favorite if you are?

  1. Andrew
    July 20, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    If you ever had the distinct pleasure of trying Grant’s Scottish Ale while Burt Grant was still a) Alive b) directly involved with brewing or c) looking you in the eye to see how much you thought of his beers, consider yourself lucky. This was the first beer to convince me that beer deserved as much attention as wine. Like a meal in a bottle, but still so tasty you always wanted more. I haven’t been back to Yakima in a few years, so I don’t know if the beers have been tinkered with, or if they’re still brewing, but if I could time travel I would be back there circa ’93 enjoying a pint or seven.

    • atattooedtale
      July 22, 2009 at 4:25 pm

      Thanks for the comment, Andrew. That’s a great story, but I have to confess, I have never had one of his brews. I did some research and it looks like the brewery has been closed for awhile now.

      • Andrew
        July 22, 2009 at 4:29 pm

        Ach. Breaks my heart. I saw the brewery equipment for sale online. Oh to be a millionaire. Still one of the finest beers I ever had. It will be missed.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

